Home > Abu Bakr, Love of Allah, Mufti Taqi Uthmani, Prophet Muhammad ﷺ > …..I would have made Abu Bakr my beloved

…..I would have made Abu Bakr my beloved

 

Image

Allah ta’ala has made this heart in such a way that it can have in it only one true love. There can be several relationships as and when necessary but true love can only be one, other Love cannot be of the same degree. For this reason the Prophet (salallahu ‘alayhi wasalam) said about Hazrat Abu Bakr (radiallahu ‘anhu):

“Had I made a friend (khalil) in this world I would have befriended (took as a khalil) Abu Bakr. [Sahih Bukhari, Hadith No.466]

The Prophet’s (salallahu ‘alayhi wasalam) relationship with Hazrat Abu Bakr (radhiallahu ‘anhu) was so strong that no other person could be compared with him. Hazrat Mujaddad Alf Thani (Shaykh Ahmed Sirhindi rahimullah) says that the example of Hazrat Abu Bakr (radhiallahu ‘anhu) is like that: if you put a mirror in front of the Prophet (salallahu ‘alayhi wasalam), the image of the Prophet (salallahu ‘alayhi wasalam) in the mirror would be comparable with Hazrat Abu Bakr (radhuallahu ‘anhu), such was the status of Hazrat Abu Bakr.

Even then the Prophet (salallahu ‘alayhi wasalam) did not say that I make him my friend, my beloved. Instead the Prophet (salallahu ‘alayhi wasalam) said that had I made a friend in this world I would have befriended Abu Bakr but my real beloved is Allah ta’ala with His love in the heart there is no room for any other true love.

However there can be other relationships such as relationship with wife, children, mother, father, brother, sister. But these relationships are subservient to the love of Allah.

______________

Excerpt from: An Outlook on Life by Mufti Taqi Uthmani, pg 111

  1. No comments yet.
  1. May 27, 2014 at 11:35 am

Leave a Reply

